The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Furniture Slot Limits Are Not Random Or Arbitrary. They Are Necessary And Have A Possible Solution.

Woefulmonkey
Woefulmonkey
✭✭✭
I am a software engineer but not a game developer, although I did dabble in game development in my youth. I am very confident in what I am about to describe but cannot be 100% certain of the actual technical implementations because I don’t work for ESO and have never tried to break open their code to poke around.

Ok, this could be somewhat long post to stay with me if you can. This will hopefully give people a better understanding of ‘why’ things are the way they are today, and constructive ways to approach ESO about ‘solving’ the ‘limit problem’.

First I will try to explain why there are limits for how much furniture you can place and why they are ‘so low’ in some people’s opinions.

Then I will explain how game developers cheat to overcome the problems that make object limits an issue.

Finally, I will describe how those approaches could be used to solve at least ‘most’ of the limit issues people are having.

Why Are Limits ‘So Low’.

Because that is the ‘Best’ they could do.

They are not trying to screw you. Trust me if they could give you infinite slots they would in a heartbeat because furniture generates revenues for ‘items’ that are practically free for ESO to create.

So… Why is 700 slots the best ESO could do? (After all the game world seems to have many more objects than you can place in your house)