Maintenance for the week of June 3:
• [IN PROGRESS] PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – June 3, 2:00AM EDT (6:00 UTC) - 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC)
· Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for maintenance – June 5, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 10:00AM EDT (14:00 UTC)
· PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for maintenance – June 5, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 10:00AM EDT (14:00 UTC)

Patch notes are up. How long before we are playing the game

• raglau
    raglau
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm not a developer and have limited knowledge of these things, but wouldn't it make sense to have 2 servers each for both NA & EU to avoid any maintenance downtime whatsoever? For example, EU server A is up while EU server B is under maintenance, then server B goes up while A is under maintenance, and so on... Sort of a leap-frog thing. I'm sure there are reason why this isn't the case, but... thoughts?

They no doubt do have multiple clustered servers for resilience reasons. But when updating the game in this way, it probably updates some shared databases that cannot be live and locked. They could deploy an entire replicated setup, but that would cost more in terms of kit, software and licenses, plus cost far more to own. It's therefore rare to deploy something that's truly end-to-end replicated except in the most business critical situations, and this is just a game.
    Options
  • Rayya_Blackheart
    Rayya_Blackheart
    ✭✭✭
    Ignotus wrote: »
    Sophieous wrote: »
    And why isn't this posted in the official maintenace thread?

After 7 hours people have to dig through ONE of the MANY maint threads to find this?

I'm sorry lads, that's a bit unprofessional.
    I kept checking the "Maintenance Announcements" section looking for something regarding why, once again, the maintenance is seemingly taking forever. :/ Seems like a good place to put that information imo.

Dev tracker :D
    PC NA Rayya Blackheart pitiful DPS NB CP160
    PC NA Phaedra Phoenix beast mode Templar Healer CP160