The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Magplar PvP

xGhost91x
xGhost91x
So I'm still pretty new to magicka classes in PvP (old stam DK main) and I need some advice. I can get some kills but I'm WAY too squishy.

I'm currently running:
2 Skoria (heavy)
5 Spinners (chest, legs. boots, Nirnhoned inferno staff)
5 Wizard's Riposte (belt, gloves, jewelry)
2 Song of Lamae (sword and shield on back bar).

Anyone have any advice for a newbie Magplar?
  • Baconlad
    Baconlad
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    That's a solid build!

I hate to say this...But you need to spend time learning how to defend properly. Your purges, heals. You'll get the feeling somthing bad is about to happen and just KNOW what to cast and when.

Make sure you are fully impended out. I would also suggest mist form and vampirism. Reason being is proper line of sight. You NEVER want to over extend in cyrodil, even the tankiest DPS toon no matter the class cannot afford to over extend, magplar is supposed to wait until ur enemies are on top of you.

Also, are you using total dark? Its about the best CC you will find to use. If ur enemy is stupid enough not to break it, than you are neigh unkillable 1v1 while it's up.

One more thing, I would suggest as well a regen set instead of spinners. Spinners is GREAT in experienced hands. But for less experienced players you be better off running a set like desert rose with riposte on back bar or lich would work too.

You need to be patient as a magplar...ur not a magsorc who can double their HP with uncrittable shields, and jump in for 4 seconds wrecking stuff. You have to be smarter than your enemy.

Having trouble with magplar...ur NOT alone on this.

The way you have to play is very reactive. To react to what ur enemy is doing as opposed to just going through a rotation like most other classes.