The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

What performance improvements are we getting with AWA?

• Saieden
    Saieden
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    The point about "DB performance" that I have been trying to convey is that this is a drop in the bucket for any sane system. If the system isn't sane, then fix that root cause instead of just deleting a tiny piece of the symptom. If it is sane, then this a fake reason for AWA.

This realization, as a dev myself, was my quit moment (financially, I will still happily do quests with my wife on f2p mode when we're in the mood, but we have now both started FF14).

They had my benefit of the doubt for the first two weeks, and after that I saw the PNR was too close and decided that either the code/architecture is so bad that I can no longer justify investing in the game*, or that ZoS management is just so full of hubris and blindly refuse to acknowledge any kind of mistake and make the right decision for the players (that literally BEGGED them to stop this), which is simply enough for me to quit on principle alone

In the end, all the QnA did was prove to me that both scenarios were in fact correct.

* I know first-hand how continuous hack-jobs piled onto and bad design effect a large-scale system in the long run.
  • code65536
    code65536
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    As players, we don't know how exactly how their backend works, but there are some important bits that can be inferred by observing how the game behaves.