Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

DK Stam Tank sets

HebrewHatchet
HebrewHatchet
✭✭✭
I'm new to tanking and looking to make gear every couple of vet levels, but I can't decide what to make!

I can make 9 trait sets and I have both the Engine Guardian and Blood Spawn sets (crappy traits, but it's fine for now). I'd also like to do at least mediocre DPS on fights like the Engine Guardian where a tank is not needed. Because of this, I don't want to toggle any max stat increase when switching weapons** (e.g. Armor Master 5% health). Lastly, I'd like to do all of this without crafting 2 sets of expensive ass, hard to manage gear (console gamer here).

** This happens when one of the 5 pieces for a set is your primary weapon and you swap to your secondary weapon which belongs to a different set. By doing it this way, you can toggle which 5 trait bonus you want on different bars, but it's bad if you take a 5% health hit every time you switch (when full).

Any suggestions on what to craft for myself?

For example:

When tanking: mace and shield on both bars
When DPSing: Maul and Bow

Head: Engine Guardian
Shoulders: Engine Guardian
Chest: Armor Master
Hands: Armor Master
Waist: Armor Master
Legs: Night Mother
Feet: Night Mother

Mace (x 2): Armor Master
Shield (x 2): Armor Master

Maul: Night Mother
Bow: Night Mother

This is good for tanking except that the Night Mother's set gives weapon critical at 2 pieces, which is not useful for a tank, so this could be optimized. For DPS, I'd get no benefit from my Armor Mater pieces (which is why 2 are on the mace and shield), but Night Mother's would give me weapon crit and damage at 3 pieces, so it's not terrible (i.e. good enough as I am mainly a tank). The other benefit is that it doesn't require 2 full sets.

[PS4 NA]