Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Instant crash on my Mac [Workaround]

• sphane
    sphane
    ✭✭✭
    Annelid01 wrote: »
    Pity if you do not have Xcode and are stuck on Sierra for other reasons.

You should be able to install Xcode on Sierra. Am still running EL Capitan (10.11). I use Xcode for years (since release) and never had any problem to install it on any OS (didn't test on Sierra or High Sierra tho)

There is more intrusive way to limit core usage but i dont recommend if you dont have a deep knowledge of what you are doing (will not be reverted when restarting, have to do by your own).
  • sphane
    sphane
    ✭✭✭
    Wodinn wrote: »
    Rowjoh wrote: »
    The workaround detailed by @sphane solved it for me, and I don't have any performance or graphics degradation either.

Genius!

I read the patch notes for the update today. I'm no programmer at all, but in the performance section it did make mention that they made changes so that that game would finally make use of multiple core cpu's. I can't help but think either that, or the multithreading has something to do with this. Again, I'm no programmer, this is just a guess. Taking that into consideration, and a couple of other points they made on that topic. Decreasing the amount of cpu cores right now, temporarily, won't make any difference on the performance. tbh, my game seems to play smoother, and looks a bit better even.

You are right, it's the origin of the problem. I guess all of us have 2 CPU multi-core and obviously, ESO is confusing with more than 1 CPU on mac. Usually i downgrade my computer to run old program... but it's the first time i have to do to run a brand new one...

Having confirmation that ZOS is aware and working on a permanent fix would be great because multi cpu machines are becoming very commons...

@ZOS_GinaBruno ?