The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• PC/Mac: NA megaserver for maintenance – April 25, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC)
https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/comment/8098811/#Comment_8098811

Curiously low performance on multi-core xeon

Jasiek95
Jasiek95
Soul Shriven
Hello everyone, not many people running my setup so I thought I'd inquire about it here in the forum.

I've been playing the game for about 2 months now and really enjoying it. But, I'm getting really frustrated at how poorly my PC is performing, especially in crowded zones with multiple players. Usually on Ultra I net around 40-50 FPS and sometimes 60 with little activity around me, but as soon as I enter, say, Mournhold or Rawl'kha, it drops down to 20-30. My CPU during this time sticks around 10-15%, even during large fights or crowded zones the usage doesn't increase to accommodate demand. My GPU meanwhile sits around 40% on ultra and low (regardless of what settings I tinker with) and I'm yet to see it shoot past the 60% mark.

The client seems to prefer one thread, which usually hovers around 90% on Ultra-High and remains the same even when I choose the lowest possible settings (640x480) with no increase in FPS. All the other threads meanwhile are seldom used or around 5-10% (only time CPU usage increases is when I change graphical settings, it then shoots up to 100% on all threads).