Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Mac OS X El Capitan

Publius_Scipio
Publius_Scipio
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭✭
So i watched Apple's stream of WWDC today and of course they announced their next version of Mac OS X, El Capitan. One of the things that was touched upon was that they spent time getting performance up versus Yosemite. They are doing away with OpenGL and replacing it with Metal, which debuted on iOS 8. I am not an expert on the more technical aspects so I will not go into it, but bottom line is Metal allows game developers to get much better performance and allows much more detail on the screen on the same Mac versus currently what is capable with OpenGL.

What do you guys think? Come the Fall will El Capitan boost ESO performance off the bat? You think ESO will have compatibility issues? Will ZOS continue Mac development to take advantage of Metal and how long before we see any benefit from it?

Edit:

http://www.imore.com/metal-os-x-so-huge-i-no-longer-need-mac-pro

Will Metal allow Mac to finally have the new character facial animations PCs have had for some time now?

Edited by Publius_Scipio on June 9, 2015 3:58PM
  • KhajitFurTrader
    KhajitFurTrader
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    Ok, let's do this one by one. :wink:
    Come the Fall will El Capitan boost ESO performance off the bat?
    Very unlikely. You have to differentiate between high-level operating system APIs like Core Animation or Core Graphics, which in turn call lower-level APIs like OpenGL or, in the future, Metal (which in turn operate on a driver level).