The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [IN PROGRESS] PC/Mac: NA megaserver for maintenance – April 25, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC)
https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/comment/8098811/#Comment_8098811

Is it possible to have a viable character that utilises no class skills/passives?

Madrax573
Madrax573
✭✭✭
There are a lot of discussions around the various classes and 'built/play your own way' etc

So I was wondering if it was possible to build a viable character just using non-class skills/passives?
If so what would that look like...
I'm a bomb technician. If you see me running, try to keep up!
  • GrumpyDuckling
    GrumpyDuckling
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭
    Viable for much of overland content, sure, but getting into dungeons/trials you're just hurting your group. In PVP and Veteran Maelstrom Arena you're making the game much more difficult, but you could still see some successes.

It wouldn't look pretty and choosing a class would be pointless, so it would come down to which weapon skill line and which world skill lines you would want to pursue.
  • kylewwefan
    kylewwefan
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    I think you could go with no class skills fairly easily. But you probably still want some passives.

Even without the passives, would probably be completely viable. We’re very close to this now. Psijic skills, Mages guild, Fighters guild, Assault; can easily replace class skills.

Mostly you need a couple dots and a spammable.
  • RaptorRodeoGod
    RaptorRodeoGod
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I mean, just take a Stam Sorc build, and find something to replace Hurricane and Bound Armaments with. Probs something like Deadly Cloak in place of Hurricane, and maybe Evil Hunter in place of Bound Armaments