The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

PSA-Please Don't Use Port Forwarding for ESO(ZOS shouldn't be telling people to do this)

RinaldoGandolphi
RinaldoGandolphi
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭✭✭
@ZOS_GinaBruno‌ @ZOS_JessicaFolsom‌

As the title says, I please ask for everyones own safety, don't use port forwarding for ESO. I also ask, can ZOS employees please stop telling customers to do this, its irresponsible and a major computer security risk. This came to my attention today on the ESO redditt

http://www.reddit.com/r/elderscrollsonline/comments/2nnlf6/an_unknown_error_occurred_eso_support_response/

I am a Network Administrator, and Administer Windows and Linux servers and firewalls on a daily basis including Cisco managed switches as well. Web servers, mail servers, exchange, postfix, dovecot, blah, blah blah. years experience and going strong.

I am only posting this thread because port forwarding is a serious security risk if one doesn't know what their doing. Its is NOT just about the router...its about the machines behind the router.

Question: What exactly is Port Forwarding?

Answer:Port Forwarding is when you tell your router that incoming packets from ANY computer on your WAN(The Internet) that are incoming(meaning your not required to initiate the connection) on the port you forward will be automatically routed to an IP Address on your internal LAN behind your router/firewall.

Question: What is port forwarding used for?

Answer - When your wanting to host or share remote resources with a network or the Internet such as Web Servers, Mail Servers, FTP Servers, etc.