Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

New player here asking about leveling and challenge

Vilhone
Vilhone
Hello and thanks in advance. First of all im absolutely love in eso, playing series x. Im an old wow veteran who wanted to get back into mmo gaming. Im level 29 stamina necromancer and im amazed how rotation and combat is more complex to wow and with controller! Using right skill, swapping action bars bow to 2h it feels much more exiting, specially when i learned the class to divide the skill for bow and 2hander with different heals and aoe with light and heavy attacks plus block. It feel much more wholesome than alt tab rotation in wow which i also liked.

But the concern is about challenge. What content do you play to feel the progress of new gear and skills? Becouse dungeon finder instances are so fast and easy you barely get to hit anything other than bosses. Runs are super fast rushes. I like the dungeons and storys but there is no time to absord anything. I have to sprint my stamina and maybe get 2 hits in aoe packs if im fast. Ive yet never seen any1 to die in instances. Will there be any challenge and feel of progress? How i am supposed to lvl up and experiencing the journey?

Yesterday i entered grp area and soloed some quests it felt the difficulty is now pretty accurate for solo play. Some outside bosses maybe a little difficult. I even soloed "the mages staff" instances and some encounters i died couple of times, it felt i needed to use all my skill and knowledge to keep alive and deal enough of damage. I barely made it but felt so rewarded. But if it get any more difficult i cannot solo grp dungeons, is this how the game is supposed to be played? All the others in the area were in groups.
Edited by ZOS_Icy on July 11, 2022 4:54PM
  • ZOS_Icy
    ZOS_Icy
    mod
    Greetings,