The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

New Player - Can't Decide What to Play

Zykerion
Zykerion
✭✭
I'm somewhat new to the game in the sense that the only time I had with ESO before recently was a couple of sessions in the beta way way back when. Having gotten bitten by the MMO bug again lately I decided to give this game a try because of the B2P model (and it was on sale).

The problem I'm having is one I'm sure many RPG players have experienced over the years, which is that there are so many cool options and you want to try them all at once that you end up sitting and playing the character creator for hours before you finally end up with a choice you're happy with.

Mostly I tend to play characters that I think would be interesting to roleplay, but I like to optimize or min/max where possible within the framework of said character, if possible. Right now I've got an idea in my head for an Orc Templar who runs around meting out justice with a two-handed axe, but there I can't decide on whether I want the character to be male or female. And in the process of looking up stamina builds, as that's what orcs seem to be designed for, I've been checking out some of the other stamina excelling classes (namely Warden/Necromancer), though I don't really have any story framework for those options as of yet.

When I run into this problem, I typically go asking for opinions on what other folks think would be interesting/cool to see both from a lore/roleplaying perspective and what might work out best from a gameplay perspective.

TL;DR Indecisive player suffers from options overload, asks community for some opinions.
  • Ashryn
    Ashryn
    ✭✭✭✭✭