Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Care and feeding of a gaming machine....

erliesc
erliesc
✭✭✭
Not that I'm an expert...but here's some things I do with a desktop gaming box:

* Run Speedfan (free temp monitoring program). I have an alarm set for 70C for the GPU and CPU....anything above this I get a BEEP....then I consider shutting down.

I also run the online SMART test...get a 95...though my Power on count is higher than most...might be just a matter of time before the end... Drive never gets too warm that I know of.

* After I shut down the game...I give things time to get to baseline temps....down near 30C or so.

Pretty much run at highest settings...though recently I put the view distance to 80% and dropped the shadow from ultra to high....probably gives a little more stable frame rate.

If I were running a gaming laptop...I'd have it sitting on a laptop cooler for sure.

Running an I5-2500 CPU...8 G memory...GTX 960...Win7...CoolerMaster

Would appreciate any other ideas or decent progs to run.....
I know nutting....
  • DoctorESO
    DoctorESO
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    Wow! This reminded me that some people (not saying you) take better care of their computers (or cars) than they do their own bodies!
  • erliesc
    erliesc
    ✭✭✭
    For computers...it's mostly heat that is the enemy? My current gaming box has been thru World of Tanks...New Vegas...plus ESO for around 2 years. Did have to reload Windows due to getting stupid installing a new video card...sent that one back...installed a new one and have been running it for 2 yrs or so.