Maintenance for the week of May 20:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – May 20
• NA megaservers for maintenance – May 22, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• EU megaservers for maintenance – May 22, 8:00 UTC (4:00AM EDT) - 16:00 UTC (12:00PM EDT)
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – May 22, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 6:00PM EDT (22:00 UTC) https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/658773

Higher than normal Ping

mccloudx22b14_ESO
I haven't played in a few months but I come back and my ping has been 100+ since I started playing again. I used to hover between 30-80. All the ports for this game are open and an exception has been added to Windows Defender.
Is there anything else I can do? It's pretty unplayable at times at 150ms in dungeons with people.
  • ZOS_Bill
    ZOS_Bill
    admin
    There are a number of factors that can cause high "ping" (latency). It is usually caused by congested/overloaded routers on the way to the target machine or low quality/inadequate bandwidth.

Here's a few simple troubleshooting steps that may help improve your ping:
    • To best access The Elder Scrolls Online, configure your router to open the following outbound ports:
      • TCP / UDP Ports 24100 through 24131
      • TCP / UDP Ports 24300 through 24331
      • TCP / UDP Ports 24500 through 24507
      • TCP Port 80
      • TCP Port 433
    • Update the firmware of your router (it is always a good step to take, as it prevents that an outdated firmware interferes on your connection).
    • Try to put your modem/router far from all electrical devices and do not coil up any excess signal or power cables (to eliminate possible interference problems).
    The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited - ZeniMax Online Studios
    Forum Rules | Code of Conduct | Terms of Service | Home Page | Help Site
    Options
    Staff Post
  • Horowonnoe
    Horowonnoe
    ✭✭✭✭✭