Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

Tempering Alloy drop chance

VadimAleks
VadimAleks
✭✭✭
I'm not a professional craftsman or resource farmer. Usually, I just do my own business, resources accumulate and when they become more than 1000 (usually it happens once a month) - I recycle them. Thus, I have the opportunity to collect statistics on the chance of falling out of various materials. Until recently (approximately to Horns dlc), the Tempering Alloy drop chance was 8% and the Dreugh Wax drop chance was 4%. This was fair, since Dreugh Wax drop from 2 types of resources(cloth+leather) and Tempering Alloy from one (ore). But after the Horns DLC everything changed. The chance of the Tempering Alloy now also 4%.
Since the Tempering Alloy has always been a more valuable resource (weapon upgrade+armor upgrade) - this is a HUGE nerf. ZOS provokes an increase in the number of bots in the game.
No more levels and skills, only degradation!
  • Turelus
    Turelus
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Do you have your data recorded anywhere? As I think you're going to need to produce some tracked data with decent samples before anything can be confirmed.

Tempers have been criticized of being nerfed many times because of how the RNG works and players pick up on patterns within it.
    @Turelus - EU PC Megaserver
    "Don't count on others for help. In the end each of us is in this alone. The survivors are those who know how to look out for themselves."
  • JasonSilverSpring
    JasonSilverSpring
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Likely just a run of bad luck. One needs a lot of data to calculate the drop rate. Also, I doubt the rate is even 4%. If I get more than one refining 100 mats I consider myself lucky.
  • Vapirko
    Vapirko
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭