Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Reinstall ESO Fresh or Incremental Game Update - 64 Bit Client

Publius_Scipio
Publius_Scipio
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭✭
With the 64 Bit client coming with the next update/DLC in March is it worth it to reinstall the entire game? I don't have specific science or proof but with games in general, sometimes people find that issues are resolved when a game is installed fresh. I guess sometimes with incremental updates the old code and updated code "trip over" themselves?

Anyway, I am no computer expert (specifically Mac and OS X) and a 64 Bit client update incrementally updated from older 32 Bit code seems like a big deal. Would it be smart or a waste of time to (when the update is released) to install ESO from scratch?

Thanks.
  • Elsonso
    Elsonso
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I would suggest that reinstalling the entire game will be a bad idea.

I have no idea how well they update the base version of the game stored on the download server with the current patch and update. It is very possible that there is a base version of the game that is installed, and all updates and patches since then need to be added to that. I am pretty sure that I do not want to be the one that tests that to see what they do.

What drives me to say this is that anyone who does this could be still downloading the game long after everyone else has downloaded and started playing.

You could reinstall the game in late February and avoid the long delay when the Update is released. You could also do a Repair to fix any issues that could be resolved by a download. If it is add-ons and local data that is causing your problem, getting those off your system can also be done. The game will regenerate any user files it needs, but you may need to go in an reset some settings.
    PC NA/EU: @Elsonso
    XBox EU/NA: @ElsonsoJannus
    X/Twitter: ElsonsoJannus