The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 29:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – April 29

Help With Acronyms

BMW217
BMW217
Soul Shriven
Can someone explain to me the acronyms DoTs and HoTs and DPS and all of the other acronyms that are used in eso? Also, can anyone explain to me all of the builds and roles that people play and all the technical terms that they use. If there is a online guide that explains builds and classes, please reference me to it. I am new to mmo's so I need some clarification. Thanks
  • Sarenia
    Sarenia
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    DoT - Damage Over Time
    HoT - Heal Over Time
    DPS - Damage Per Second
    WTS - want to sell
    WTB - want to buy
    PST - please send tell

As for an extensive guide of all acronyms you'll find, I can't help there. Common gaming acronyms are easy to search up though.

People are very fond of acronyms in gaming. Most of them you'll see are probably area names. People just assume if they shorten any random sentence to a string of letters, others will know what they mean.
    [beta_group_85b_9]
  • Laura
    Laura
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    DoT = Damage over time

HoT = Heal over time

DPS = Damage per second

these are very old MMO terms

DoT is a debuff you put on an enemy that does damage over the course of its duration (usually described as "ticks" each "tick" does a little of its over all damage)

HoT does exactly what a dot does but it goes on a friendly target and heals

DPS is how much damage you do ON AVERAGE per second.
  • Greydog
    Greydog
    ✭✭✭✭
    DoT = Damage over time
    HoT = heal over time
    AOE = Area of effect
    DPS = Damage Per Second
    "I Plan on living forever ..so far so good"
    Sanguine's Disciple

Asylum Amoebaeus ..A refuge for those who normally fly solo.