The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• PC/Mac: NA megaserver for maintenance – April 25, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC)
https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/comment/8098811/#Comment_8098811

Mac Crashing

redwall
redwall
When I use my macbook ESO tends to crash everyonce and a while.

Anybody else have this problem?
  • Calmyron
    Calmyron
    Yes. It's due to a memory leak from the research I've done. I’m a Mac Consultant, so I was curious to find out why my ESO client kept crashing. I use a memory cleaner to give back unused memory that a program is holding on to even though it’s finished using it. Not too many programs have this issue, but a few do. After a while, I run out of RAM.

When watching how ESO is using memory, I’ve found that when you zone from a building in/out or change zones, ESO asks Finder for enough memory to handle the graphics it needs to build on the screen. The problem comes in where ESO forgets to let go of the memory it was using for the previous zone. It’s stops using it, but doesn’t tell Finder that it’s available for use again. Eventually, ESO gobbles up all the memory and when Finder can’t give it any more, ESO crashes. If you log out characters and move to other characters for banking issues, mainly mules, you’ll hit this problem pretty fast. If you stay on the same character for a while, it might take a couple of hours before it crashes, but it will if you stay on long enough.