Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

Templar Tank spec... broken?!

Johnny_NO_skillz
Johnny_NO_skillz
✭✭✭
Hello everyone - first I'll start this off by saying I am by NO means an expert tank player, but I can't help but wonder if Templar Tanking is either just too esoteric for me to grasp, or if Templars make effective tanks at all...

I am a level 23 Temp "Tank", with Aedric Speak Focus and I CAN'T for the life of me hold ANY aggro.

It's not like the DPS and I are fighting for aggro... it's like I can't even get the damn mobs/bosses attention!! It makes me want to rage!!

Please someone tell me a good build for Temp tanking - I've looked all over google and the only sites I pull up are general information about skill trees.

I need rotation/skill break down... I'm SO lost.
Edited by Johnny_NO_skillz on April 14, 2014 5:29AM
  • Ziz
    Ziz
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Use puncture on the main target (bosses will randomly target other players periodically) use aoe to attract adds

However in ESO you are not expected or even able to Gro everything. If you did you'd die to fast too.
  • jesterstear
    jesterstear
    ✭✭✭
    I'm a Templar tank and I went with Restoring Light skill path. My taunt is the first skill on the Sword and Shield weapon skill line, which forces the mob to attack you for the next 15 seconds or whatever.

You can easily keep agro on one mob with that, you can hold more with target switching and spamming that skill but

a) Stamina won't last

b) You might actually make the healer's job harder if you're tanking more mobs than you can effectively block/dodge/interrupt the big attacks of.

Eg. You are in heavy armour but you've been rooted / stunned by a sorcerer and two archers start building up their special attack which you can't do anything about.