The issue is resolved, and the North American PC/Mac megaserver is now available. Thank you for your patience!
Maintenance for the week of April 15:
• [IN PROGRESS] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – April 16, 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Bots - The Technical Reasons Behind Them

• starkerealm
    starkerealm
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Well, I have seen one programmer (not ZOS programmer) and a lot of people that claim to know how to design MMO's correctly.

First I seriously doubt the problem is as simple as everyone is making it out to be. I also seriously doubt that the server "completely" trusts the client. I am sure there is some trust involved, and I don't doubt that there is an attempt by ZOS to use client side movement and possibly even more. There are a significant number of advantages to doing that. There are certainly a number of risks.

Technically you've seen more than one programmer say it. I just didn't bother to announce that I got a degree in programming a decade ago, and did very little with it at any of my subsequent jobs.

The client side movement is actually fairly easy to observe first person. If you lose connection... you can actually test this by just yanking the ethernet cable out of your PC, if you want. You can still move around, for quite some time. Now... that could just be the client, but, when you reconnect the cable and resync, the rubber-banding is fairly limited, or non-existent. By the way, if you leave it disconnected for too long, the client will kill itself, and you'll be reverted to your last known location.