The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Bots - The Technical Reasons Behind Them

• CrimsonThomas
    CrimsonThomas
    ✭✭✭✭
    They're game-destroying. Zenimax should stop flirting with the issue through timers and saying "Just report them!" and take the primary, active role in going after the people ruining The Elder Scrolls Online.

That $15 monthly subscription supposedly paid for better support, let's see our subscription dollars at work.
  • SirAndy
    SirAndy
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Repost from another thread:

I'm a programmer and worked in the game industry for many years.

My take:
    ZOS made the mistake to have client side movement where the decision about your movement in the world is made locally in your game client and that decision is then sent to the server.

This opens the door WIDE for all sorts of exploits. No game relevant decision should ever be made by the client and then be sent to the server. Ever. All bad.

Instead, every multiplayer game i have ever worked on used some sort of prediction model where the server kept track of your characters state at all times and the client only send the user input to the server.
    The server then decides whether that input is within the capabilities of the character, calculates an outcome and then transmits that result to the client.
    In the mean time the client has done a similar calculation to "predict" the server answer and renders the client side prediction before even getting an answer from the server.
    99% of the time the answer matches the prediction and you get a smooth client side game display with very little lag.
    The few times when the prediction fails, you'll see little hickups, but they rarely happen.