Maintenance for the week of June 24:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – June 24

Tanks: what are your thoughts on balancing selfish vs support gear in PUG dungeons?

• Oreyn_Bearclaw
    Oreyn_Bearclaw
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    My preference for pug tanking, not that I am an expert, is one selfish set and one group set.

Leeching can be your selfish set, but something like Ebon is also a bit of a hybrid, gives everyone lots of health. Really anything that stacks health or armor can qualify here. Its the selfish set, so pick the one you want. :) Another hybrid if you will is Yolnahkriin, especially the prefected version. You get double health and stam, plus you get minor aegis (selfish and fairly tanky). You also get a nice group damage buff (minor Courage) when you taunt, so easy to keep up.

For a group set, considering you are running pugs, almost certainly the best thing to focus on is group penetration. Sets like PA (gives spell weapon damage) assume you are at the pen cap, and the reality is, most pug groups arent at the cap, because most pugs don't even know what the pen cap is.

If your DPS are not at the cap, best way to increase damage is almost always to focus penetration. Crimson Oath is really hard to beat in this department. Taunt with pierce every 12 seconds, and you are giving major/minor breach to the target and an AOE pen buff of 3500. Combine with a back bar infused crusher glyph and your favorite weapon ground AOE, and your DPS are only going to need like 4k pen to be at the cap, which almost everyone will have without trying. If you get into more organized groups, and you know your DPS are all overpenetrating with Crimson, then perhaps look to run something like powerful assault in its place.