Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

New player questions and tips

devildarklink
Hello there, I just started playing this with a friend of mine, and we are both level 11 but even though I like the combat system I feel sometimes lost in this game and most probably because I dont know some of the basics.

For instance the quest system, I notice that its possible to do quests in group with my friend, but its hard to find quests they dont appear in the map.

Also what is the main objective in the game? There are achievements and quests to do, but beside that its just leveling up till lvl 50?

Another question my map (Vvardenfell) is full of different icons (outside of the main city), what do they mean? are all of those dungeons or what? is there some kind of legend for each type of icon?

What would you recommend me to do?

It's a lot about exploring the maps by myself right?

Thanks for any upcoming help
  • Protossyder
    Protossyder
    ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to ESO,

there is so much to learn, it will take a while.

- I believe there is an add on (if you are on pc) that marks quests on the map, but I wouldn't recommend it. Quests will pop up in your compass (at the top of your screen) when you are nearby them and there are lots of them. The world is meant to be explored by yourself as you stated correctly, so don't hesitate wandering around.

- It's a MMORP, you decide what the main objective is. I focused on the quests and exploring first and after a long time I discovered dungeons, joined a guild with nice people (I see them as friends by now), do PvE endgame and occasionally PvP now. Don't forget that they constantly release new content and that you only tried out one of the five (soon to be six) classes there are in game.