Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

Help! I cannot beat any enemies?

Roco32373
Roco32373
✭✭✭
So I just started playing ESO: Morrowind. I have played games for years, I've beaten Halo campaigns on Legendary settings, etc. (meaning I am not a completely clueless dope)

However, when I play Morrowind, as I am doing the quests, the enemies keep kicking my butt. Some of the three on one battles I do not stand a chance. I thought the enemies scaled to your level? I am currently only Level 4, so maybe that's it, but am I missing something? Are all quests meant to be group battles only?

This game is so beautiful on the Xbox One X...just waling around makes me happy. But I would like to play the quests and level up, etc. I would hate not to be able to play it.

So besides "git gud," what else should I be doing?

Thanks for your help!
  • DRAGON_KILLER_HUNTER
    DRAGON_KILLER_HUNTER
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    reroll warden
  • Nestor
    Nestor
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    You can't spam light or heavy attacks and succeed, instead, you use light and heavy attacks along with skills, see this:

Combat in this game comes down to Skill Rotations, with Light or Heavy Attacks interspersed. So, it's more like 1,2,3,4,1,2,3 dead. Pick your skill rotations so that one skill will set up or buff another skill. For example, use a skill that Snares, then a skill that gives Damage over Time to an area so the snared mobs spend longer in pain, then use a spam damage skill. This is just one example.

Once you learn a good rotation, then you can weave in light or heavy attacks between the skills to extend the resource pool you play from. So it's more like 1, LMB, 2, LMB,3, LMB, 4, LMB, 1 Dead. Then once you learn how to weave attacks, then you can start animation canceling to up your DPS.