Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

So I feel kinda lost?

Pentrep
Pentrep
Soul Shriven
I'm relatively new to the game, and I feel like I'm lost in the shuffle. I am not having a problem leveling in so much as I am having grasping the dungeons. Every time I do my randoms, it feels like it's a 50/50 tossup. I liked tanking in other games but in this game it feels clumsy at best, though it's entirely possible I haven't learned it yet. I go into dungeons...tell people I've never done them. Then they proceed to yell about how I don't know mechanics. I am on PS4, I don't know how people expect me to research every fight in every dungeon before entering it. I don't know what end game is like but I'm at a loss for what to do. I want to give this game a chance but without support what I am supposed to do? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
  • Megabear
    Megabear
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    First things first, what class are you?

As for tanking, it's really simple in this game. Much more so than others. But what will distinguish you is what you do OTHER than tanking, as in how you contribute to the group. I have a Warden tank but most players choose Dragon Knight as a tanking class because they are undisputed champion of pure tank.

As a Dragon Knight common actions they expect from you are:

- Use mainly heavy armors and 1h + shield
    - Have proper tanking sets with enough resources (high health and stamina, high magicka regen)
    - Have enough block reduce cost
    - Keep boss and regular mobs taunted best you can. Pierce Armor skill is the most common taunting skill
    - Use Unrelenting Grip to "gather" mobs for easier AoE damage.
    - Use whatever else you think helps group survive or do more dps. Crushing enchant on weapon for example or whatever