The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Heal Tanking (get any in any group you want)

Americanfunguy
Americanfunguy
✭✭✭
I'm not very good at explaining why I do what I do, but I have been doing this for about a total of 6 months now, and I figured that its time I share this build and what I have discovered with it. But I would like to give a special thanks to @Tylerburlingame for being my original teacher and the one who got me started on heal tanking.

The idea of heal tanking (in my opinion) is mostly to control the flow of damage, and heal though it instead of mitigation. But lets get to the build which can be very cheap.

*updated with Dark Brotherhood*

Cool thing about heal tanking, is any race can do it, but this guide is geared for Templar. I will give my top three races however.
  1. Breton: Max Magicka is great and the defense is great. The 3% reduce cost on spells is a bit poor in my opinion but it is there.
  2. Imperial: Max Health, max Stamina, thats two major resources as a heal tank you don't want to run out of.
  3. High Elf: Max Magicka and bonus regen is amazing for a heal tank, but upon switching to Breton I preferred the resistance.
*Note*
What I would consider the least optimal races for this build are Bosmer and Khajiit

My gear and why I have it

Here you go for a 5/1/1 bonus, with the 5 in Heavy Armor
5 piece Kageranace Hope: it gives health, magicka, magicka recovery, and spell damage. As well as a quick rez in case something goes south and someone dies. Best templar set in the game in my opinon.
2 piece Engine Guardian: restores resourcess and becomes a free heal + stamina upon death.
2 piece Seducer: provides magicka regen
And a resto staff: this can be trash, vMA or master.
Traits: sturdy on small pieces, infused on the larger pieces.