Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 30:
• PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for maintenance – September 30, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC)
• Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – October 2, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – October 2, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

A few questions from a new player

castem
castem
Soul Shriven
I'm new to the game, and I have some questions I was hoping someone could answer.

I've already decided that I want to be a Breton Sorcerer with Heavy Armor and a Sword/Shield. I plan on using a mix of magic and my S&S (and its abilities) to take on enemies at close range. I want to participate in all aspects of the game (so both PvE and PvP) eventually, and I don't mind if I'm not the most optimized as long as I can still be an asset to my allies.

1. Does max stamina affect weapon damage (i.e. regular and power attacks), or just stamina-based abilities? (Will my weapon strikes still deal good damage if I go for a magic build?)

2. Does max stamina affect my Sword/Shield powers' effectiveness (stun duration, armor given, etc) or just their damage?

3. Does max stamina affect blocking effectiveness, or just how many times you can block? (Is increasing stamina needed for blocking a lot?)

4. Given my build, what should I go for attributes? I was thinking 4 health / 2 magicka / 0 stamina every 6 points, but I don't know if that'd be okay or not for later on. (Would my build suffer too much without much stamina?)

5. What in this game can be respec'd/reset? What can't be? (I'm wondering about things like skill points, attribute scores, etc.)