Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 30:
• PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for maintenance – September 30, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 8:00AM EDT (12:00 UTC)
• Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – October 2, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – October 2, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

new player, first character

DerricktheRed
DerricktheRed
Soul Shriven
I am just starting out and I wanted to ask opinions on best/most fun classes/races. I like soloing and I like playing offensive/aoe tank characters. I would also like to be able to solo as much content as possible. I other words, which class / race is best suited:

To solo much content, but also aggressively tank, preferably with aoe damage?

Complexity is not a problem, I just have time only for one character and want to make it count :).

Thank you!

Best Answer

• TheVindelator
    TheVindelator
    ✭✭✭
    Every class can solo well, so no need to worry about that really. You can pick what sounds the most fun.

But if you want something offensive/tanky with Aoe dragonknight would be a great choice. In fact, that's exactly what a DK is. I'd also go Dunmer for race.
    Edited by TheVindelator on March 18, 2016 9:01PM
    Answer ✓
  • DerricktheRed
    DerricktheRed
    Soul Shriven
    Thank you for the suggestion! I've considered a sorc, but wasn't sure if pet-based builds would be in demand when I did decide to play dungeons. The idea of soloing group content through pets is very appealing to me, though....I like strategically setting up for a fight and then executing it and it sounds like this would be that.

Just out of curiosity, which class is the best for doing AOE damage as a tank?
  • Xvorg
    Xvorg
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭