Maintenance for the week of July 8:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance - July 8
• PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – July 9, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC)
• Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – July 10, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – July 10, 4:00AM EDT (8:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Is Heavy Armor Viable for Vet Maelstrom Arena?

• EQBallzz
    EQBallzz
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Adonikam wrote: »
    Smitch_59 wrote: »
    dlepi24 wrote: »
    No benefit to running heavy at all in this game. If you want to feel tanky just add impen to your medium armor and a few CP's as well.

This makes me sad. I've worn heavy since I started playing, largely because I like the look of it. But I'm seriously considering changing to medium.

5 Medium / 1 Heavy / 1 Light - Make your chest heavy which gives you the look of heavy armor.

I have done something similar since release with my Templar. I wear 5 light with 2 heavy (chest, legs). The chest and legs are two of the highest AC pieces you can wear so it's good bang for the buck and 2 pieces of heavy actually make the heavy passives at least somewhat worthwhile. This gives you the 5 piece bonuses for light armor and the mixture of light/heavy in this way actually has a pretty good look with many of the armor sets. The gloves and boots blend well with the heavy pieces and give a nice heavy armor look.

Side benefit for me is that there are some sets with light armor shoulders that lie flat so I don't get that hideous hovering shoulder effect. I originally had this reversed (5 heavy and 2 light) but I don't think it was nearly as effective.

*edit*