Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of October 7:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – October 7
• Xbox: EU megaserver for maintenance – October 9, 2:00 UTC (October 8, 10:00PM EDT) - 16:00 UTC (12:00PM EDT)

PTS Downloading slow

tfraley
tfraley
Good day guys,

Yet again, I dread downloads from ESO.
I don't understand why I get so slow speeds.

I have 200+ down and 20+ up here at home. I work in IT, so understand how things work.
All ports are open and still get slow connections

Every now and then I will get up to 10MBs but the majority sits around 1.4 and bottoms out at 300k

I never see Windows users have these issues.

To my understanding the downloads work on a torrent/peer to peer infrastructure, is this true?
Is it simply not that many Mac users, to get decent speeds? Wouldn't you think this would be a big turn off for a new user.
If that is simply the case may be a direct download is needed for the Mac version.

Not acceptable to be sitting for days on a download

Here is a screen shot of ESO download, Speedtest and my open ports

Edited by tfraley on 4 February 2016 03:17
  • KhajitFurTrader
    KhajitFurTrader
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    Slow download speeds (when compared to downstream bandwidth capabilities of user lines) are not a Mac-only phenomenon, far from it.

There have been numerous suggestions on how to fix, or at least mitigate, this issue all over he forums, most of them involving the change of the name server addresses of the IP connection to Google's DNS (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4).