The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [COMPLETE] PC/Mac: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 22, 4:00AM EDT (08:00 UTC) - 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC)
• Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

what is "zone chat", and how does it work?

Govinda
Govinda
Soul Shriven
Noob here. New to ESO, and new to MMOG's in general.

Re: the chat window in the lower left corner, while playing:

How does the ESO software determine whose messages get posted in my chat window? Is it that everyone who happens to be playing at the time, and who happens to type something there, gets into my chat window? If that were the case, that seems like it could be an awful lot of people all posting at once... how in the world could you carry on a conversation there with just one or two people? I assume some kind of filtering mechanism is in place by default (?), and other filters can be applied somehow (?).
Which brings me to my next question - what does the "zone" word refer to in "zone chat"? Is there chat that is not "zone chat"?
  • jircris11
    jircris11
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    /zone chat is basically map chat from GW2, it lets you talk to everyone on that map without being close by. Most use it to sell or troll, some use it to ask for help as well. In general it is just a way to communicate to everyone in the area.
    IGN: Ki'rah
    Khajiit/Vampire
    DC/AD faction/NA server.
    RPer
  • Govinda
    Govinda
    Soul Shriven