The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Outfit Station and dyeing equipment

katanagirl1
katanagirl1
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭
I admit I probably don't use the outfit station as much as most players, and recently bought another outfit slot from the crown store so I can change a style on one of my characters for one set of gear. My intent was to use one outfit with one build in the armory and the other outfit with another. I have one set that I crafted in a certain style and I don't want to change that style, but do want to dye all the gear.

So at some point in the past this last set of gear, the crafted set, became an outfit, probably because I just did if for an Endeavor. I started playing around with the outfit station a few days ago to better understand how it works before I use the new outfit slot, and found something I am not sure is working properly (at least not the way I understand it). Recently I saw something on the ESO webpage about outfit stations, and it stated you can always dye your gear without having to pay gold. I am not sure that is the case.

Here I chose "No Outfit" to dye my gear, first armor and then weapons. I can dye the armor pieces, but do not see a way to actually dye my weapons without an outfit slot. There are only options for offhand and backup weapons. Again, I do not want to apply another style to the weapons or the armor, just dye them.

9lgtnedhd4ug.jpg

Here is how it looks with an outfit applied. Now you see the bow and dual wield daggers. Again, no new style has been applied, I just dyed the gear and before I could exit I had to "Apply changes" to get it to save in the past.

tmb6huu99whk.jpg

Even if I choose the offhand weapon or backup weapon with "No Outfit" selected and select a dye, I get an error message about then not being dyeable.

nhltmro276we.jpg