The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

How to make the Tank role really enjoyable

Eratas_Dualitas
Eratas_Dualitas
Soul Shriven
Ever since I started playing the game I always perceived that role as a sacrifice, not only it can be hard to play and master, but you also have way less fun than playing as a dps or a healer.

It's also the only role in which I was heavily criticized, mostly by other Tanks main players who knows and enjoy playing it way better than I do; which was a complete different experience when I would play my god of damage shields healer for example.

But everything isn't black and white, I had some great time, I was respected and understood/tolerated/thanked during the time I would play Tank.

And now you may think that maybe I was just really bad but I assure you I was not, I would watch videos, take good builds, optimize, farm stuff on my other toons... etc, and I'm able to perform well enough in most Veteran dungeons if I have a good team.

But the main reason I'm writing this post is because of the Taunting.
There's not much ways of taunting targets in ESO, and while taunting single targets can be useful in some cases, most of the time it is not.

So here's what I'm proposing: Make taunt attacks a Cone Attack.

That's it, that's what I propose. Just by doing that, tanking could become much more fun and we would actually have more players playing that role and we won't have to wait more than 10 mins for a random dungeon.

We could also change the ranged taunt ability to taunt enemies around the target too, or simply add more ways of taunting, increase the durations, whatever.