The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [IN PROGRESS] PC/Mac: NA megaserver for maintenance – April 25, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC)
https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/comment/8098811/#Comment_8098811

I've been doing it wrong. How do I correct?

tyrfing666
tyrfing666
Soul Shriven
Playing a Khajiti Nightblade (first and only character). Followed the "magicka nightblade" advisor for skills. However because my background is Skyrim etc. I've been using sword and shield with bow on the back bar. Currently at CP 700+, so the normal missions are easy, and I can even do world bosses with one or two others (can't solo though).

I can't seem to do anything harder than this though. My build seems about halfway between a tank and a dps, which is to say that if I tried to group I would most likely not be good at either.

So how do I fix this? Probably want to go DPS, since I don't think I want the responsibility of a tank. Which means destruction staff I guess (seems weird that an "assassin class" ends up using a staff...).

Any ideas on how to get my staff skills up and geared up properly?

Best Answers

• fiender66
    fiender66
    ✭✭✭✭
    IMHO sword and board is the first problem: it's a weapon with good defence but small damage. You being mag, shift to destro staff, or even to double dagger (it does not matter, as long as you use class skills, for crit is good, but heavy attack regen stamina not magicka). And you can be a very good assassin with a staff, there are many around :)

You do not give any detail on your CP allocation, nor on your armor, gems and traits and stone adopted. All these are relevant factors too.
    Answer ✓
  • Stovahkiin
    Stovahkiin
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭