Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

New Player - Sustain Question

dioc21
dioc21
Hi, I'm new to the game and looking to play a Magblade and Magsorc, but also want the ability to try out stam builds if I get to bored of purely magika. I like the looks of Dark Elfs and how they can switch back and forth easily. Everywhere I read I see that Bretons are the easiest as they have the best sustain. Coming from somebody who has never played before how hard is it going to be not being a Breton with their easy sustain, is it that game breaking or can I manage sustain no matter the race? As far as I can tell, sustain is how fast you can regen your magika power?
  • SpiritofESO
    SpiritofESO
    ✭✭✭
    dioc21 wrote: »
    As far as I can tell, sustain is how fast you can regen your magika power?

Yes, basically. The Light Armor Skill Line has magicka buffs built in, Medium has stamina buffs and Heavy has Health buffs.

Armor sets (with five-piece buffs) also has buffs variously for magicka or stamina users. Racials skills can buff "sustain" (Sustainability).

Example:

Imperial Racial Passives

Imperials make ideal tanks, not only because of their bonuses to Health and Stamina, but because they regain all 3 resources when they deal damage, and have cost reduction for all abilities.

Tanks use both Stamina and Magicka quite regularly, and regaining them really helps out. Health is just an added bonus. These same qualities make them a decent choice for PvP as well, though not as good as some other Races.

Breton Racial Passives