Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

Necromancer build for new player

Snetchyy
Snetchyy
Soul Shriven
Hello, I am new to the game. I came from other mmo games usually playing anything related to warlock/curse.
I am looking for solo play firstly, so I came to this question, which would be better for to go for stamina necromancer or vampire necromancer build?
  • colossalvoids
    colossalvoids
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not sure what you referring to as a vampire necro, but I'd suggest trying out both first or picking a flexible race (dunmer as primary example) to be able to respec into preferred specification without losing out on some redundant race bonuses. You can be vamp on any spec but it's not that beneficial to be one so check firstly if you really need anything from that skill line.
  • El_Borracho
    El_Borracho
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭
    As a new player, check out Alcast for a starting point on builds of all kinds. Then you can tweak your builds as you progress.

I've played a stam necro DPS for all of the group PVE content. I'd say its harder to run than a stamplar or magsorc as the combat takes a while to get used to. But sustain is the biggest issue. If you're just doing overland content, you should be okay though.

Not a fan of vampire DPS builds. Just saying that to let you know my personal preference, others like them, healers tend to hate them. Weakens you to fire and make heals a little harder, which is an issue for stamina DPS as Vigor is the only reliable heal for stamina. Yes, there are other skills within the necro line, but they aren't as reliable as Vigor. But overall, the DPS tradeoff does not make sense. Again, if you are only doing solo overland stuff, go for it. There are no rules there