The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

New player help needed please (cannot find a weapon)

owenhamilton
owenhamilton
Soul Shriven
So I just started playing the game under Windows, I am in a prison, I talk to a NPC who tells me we have to escape the prison, then a couple of guards show up that I have to kill but all I have is my fists, there doesn't seem to be any weapons anywhere. I looked online and some sites say I get a weapon to start with, other sites say there is a weapons rack just outside the prison door. I cannot see this weapons rack (if it exists) please can someone point me in the right direction? Thank you.
  • VaranisArano
    VaranisArano
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    The NPC leading you through the tutorial should direct you to your first weapon, which will be a greatsword.
  • owenhamilton
    owenhamilton
    Soul Shriven
    Thanks for the reply, I wondered if I hadn't got far enough so I tried again and got to an area where other players are which I guess is too far, still no sign of a weapon though.
  • tsaescishoeshiner
    tsaescishoeshiner
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    The weapons should be lying around as part of the scenery, so you just have to LOOK for a staff or sword lying around. I would try going all the way back to the jail if you can, and trace your steps from there walking up to every rack or object you can see — or ask in zone chat and maybe someone can trade you one

Are you in Coldharbour?
    PC-NA
    in-game: @tsaescishoeshiner
  • owenhamilton
    owenhamilton
    Soul Shriven