Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

[Guide] Helping with Gaming Carpal Tunnel

guarstompemoji
guarstompemoji
✭✭✭✭
What's this about?

After a conversation with a friend of mine, who can no longer play MMOs due to this condition, I decided to write about carpal tunnel.

See, it may be possible to prevent carpal tunnel despite high amounts of computer usage, or at least lessen its effects. I am not a medical professional, however.

What makes you qualified?

Let me be clear: I am no medical professional. Any knowledge comes from my father's 30+ years experience in programming, and my 20+ years in gaming and computer documentation.

My father eventually developed carpal tunnel. I nearly developed it, but was able to prevent and then reverse it by using what he had learned. So, please take this with a grain of salt, and perhaps use it as a launching point for your own research!

Why bring it up?

I was reminded of this issue when a friend of mine, barely 32, developed carpal tunnel as a result of intense gaming for many years. We can't play ESO together, or at least, he can only play for short periods of time. :(

How serious is carpal tunnel?

Carpal tunnel is a serious issue; it can prevent you from gaming, eventually prevent simple actions such as picking up a coffee cup, or remove your ability to do things like picking up your child, without experiencing pain. My father ended up having two wrist surgeries. He missed out on playing baseball with his kids.

What can be done to prevent carpal tunnel?

You need a keyboard with "natural bounceback."

What is meant by "natural bounceback"? Hold your hand at a level with your eyes. Using your other hand, tap between the knuckle and first joint. See your finger bouncing back upwards? That is the natural bounceback.