The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

Why am I getting destroyed in BG's?

Solace1981
Solace1981
✭✭✭
Playing MagDK, well over 30k resistances, only 3 pieces of impen so far. Will getting the rest impen really make that big of a difference? What else.... Oh having targets down to < 10% health and I'm beating on them (whips) and its doing next to nothing, then heal to full. What am I supposed to do when I use damn near all my resources on a kill I thought for sure would be secured. Light attack instead? This is where a lack of an execute really shows. Anyways, I'm fairly new to PvP in this game probably definitely need to work on positioning in BG's I guess. Also, its so hard to get dmg on ranged as I have no gap closer. I'm near death before I can even get in range to apply pressure or use some if not most of my precious 14k stam. I'm just at a loss here. Is MagDK terrible in BG's atm? I don't know. Any tips would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
  • MurderMostFoul
    MurderMostFoul
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Don't begin assessing your survivability until you have seven pieces with impenetrable. After seeing how things are with seven, you can maybe replace one or two with something else.

As you stated, positioning is huge. Avoiding damage is every bit as important, if not more so, then just mitigating it.

Lastly, until you are very competent, stick with your team at all times. It can be hard because things get hectic, so you have to make a conscious effort to stay near teammates. It will help a lot for both reducing incoming damage, and securing kills.

PS. Make sure you're in at least purple, if not gold, gear.
    “There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”
  • Aurielle
    Aurielle
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭