The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/
Maintenance for the week of April 22:
• [IN PROGRESS] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [IN PROGRESS] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – April 24, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Furnishings in the wild?

bearbelly
bearbelly
✭✭✭✭✭
✭✭
I'm still relatively new to the game (less than a month), so please forgive my ignorance (I couldn't find this particular topic on a search).

I was running the Pathfinder achievement on the PC EU server yesterday and I came to one of the ruins on the list.
As I was exploring the ruins, picking up what could be picked up, I saw a painting leaning up against a crate and next to it, sitting on top of that crate, was a statuette of a dragon, although, I was not able to pick up either of them.

This was the first time I can recall seeing things that are considered furnishings out in the environment, so I'm not sure if these were just part of the background.
Were they just background? (In the same sense that there are some crates and barrels which you can't interact with.)
Or, are furnishings just randomly lying around in the environment to be picked-up? If so, is there something you need to accomplish before you can pick them up?

Also, so that I don't create a separate post, if you purchase a furnished house, can you rearrange the furnishings? Can you pick up the furnishings and take them to another house?

Thanks.
  • ghastley
    ghastley
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    You can get furnishings in the wild, but not when they're being used as furnishings! You may find some ready-made items in chests and other loot containers. Most paintings are obtained that way, despite being larger than he containers you find them in.