The Gold Road Chapter – which includes the Scribing system – and Update 42 is now available to test on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/discussion/656454/

First time tanking (in ESO), any tips? (pve)

Joxer61
Joxer61
✭✭✭✭✭
Looking to give tanking a go and while not a rookie to the role (its what I did in all other MMO's save GW2) I am new to the role in ESO. I have learned that there isn't really an aggro table per say like other games (WOW) where damage dictates aggro and you have a multitude of ways to hold said aggro. With the few taunts (3?...s&b, undaunted, frost staff) we have how does one go about holding the fight so dps can go ham? I get that in this game you (the tank) need to focus on the "big" guys and all that but what I am asking is how does one step into the role for the first time?

I que for dungeon as tank is it best to let the group know I am new and have no clue as to the fights or is that sort of honesty an insta kick? In past games I have ran dungeons and such as dps first to try and learn the fights so perhaps that's a better approach? Or are folks pretty forgiving and helpful as long as you know your role and slap that taunt on and turn the boss away and all that fun stuff? Experiences of late (again, GW2) dungeon runs have left a bad taste in that people would just blow thru them, cheese mechanics and that and basically say f all the whole run. If that's the case here I reckon it would be pretty tough for a first time tank to learn their game?