Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

New Player with story/quests questions

Jushiro
Jushiro
Soul Shriven
Hey everyone, returned to ESO two weeks ago and I'm utterly in love with it. Although there are many guides online about builds, PVP, Dungeons, etc, I have yet to find a guide on the quintessential quests lines I should go for to get up to date on the current story. I started playing all my main quests and found myself on Coldharbour at level 28. I feel like I skipped so much story (the line assumed I had already met all these characters and many of them it was the first time I have seen them) and maybe I should not be in Coldharbour just yet.
Here is the question- Do you recommend me continuing with just the main quest line and ignore everything else until Im current or should I maybe pause and go back and do the guilds, alliances, important side quest- and if I do, which ones and in what order should I do them?

Thanks everyone!
  • kringled_1
    kringled_1
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭
    For plot consistency, I would recommend going back and playing through your alliance quest line through all 5 main zones. Fighter's and mages guild quests are somewhat of a sideline to this, although they were intended to somewhat follow the same order. This still won't completely fix the issue with npcs that you don't know yet, as Coldharbour has npcs from all three alliances, but it helps somewhat.
  • Beardimus
    Beardimus
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I always say to do

- main quest
    - alliance quest
    - clear zones of dolmens, delves, group event, skyshards, lore books as you go
    - fighters / mages either as you go or rattle through it in one hot to keep the story fresher.

Great XP, relevant story, and sorts a few skill lines you will need out.
    Xbox One | EU | EP