Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

What melee class/race should I choose? (New to the game)

sabnova3415
sabnova3415
Soul Shriven
Hello,
I am returning to ESO, and I am trying to figure out what melee class to go with. Essentially I am a newbie since the first time I played I only leveled 2 characters to about level 15. My friends had quit the game, so I did as well. However, I have been itching to return so here I am!
After doing a bit of research I came to the conclusion of playing either a dragonknight or a sorc. But first let me tell you my dilemma. Normally, the playstyle or archetype I like to go for in other games is a warrior, or battlemage/melee with magical capabilities (i.e. Sauron from LoTR, original Deathknight from WC2 like a Teron Gorefiend) something big, tough, plate wearing, in your face, but still can wield magic. The problem I am running into is this:
1- Many of the viable melee classes are stam (DK and sorc); it also appears sorc magicka is more ranged
2- Idk what race to play
3- I like to play different roles switching between tank and DD
4- Certain playstyles warrant certain armor types (I am willing to wear light armor since it does have its benefits for magicka builds)
Is there a race and class I can choose where I can flip between magicka based and stam based? I like to invest a lot of my time into one character. I would like to avoid making a magicka based dk/sorc, then making a stam based one when I decide to tank or when stam is superior. Obviously stamina based is superior right now, and I would like to do high end content. I would just like to pick a race and class that is viable in both playstyles, instead of making multiple toons.
Thanks for all the help!
  • Feric51
    Feric51
    ✭✭✭✭✭