Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [IN PROGRESS] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

ESO As a Source of Data for Sociological Research

jmrathbun
jmrathbun
I've noticed that many quests in this game face the player with moral dilemmas. Some other games that do this provide feedback to the player on whether the player's choices aligned with the majority of other players. This would be an interesting feature to add, just for player education. It would also generate a data trove that could be of interest to sociological researchers. Their attention to ESO in this regard would lead to ESO being cited in scholarly publications and occasional human or scientific interest news reports. Everybody wins! I'm not looking for a job but would be willing to discuss this idea further with somebody at an appropriate level in your organization.
  • Karivaa
    Karivaa
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I majored in sociology. This is irrelevant because most of the players as well as me, do not even listen to or read the quests. We just click the button to get through it quickly.
  • OC_Justice
    OC_Justice
    ✭✭✭
    My daughter was telling me of an error that occurred in WoW. There was a poison bug where a player left a dungeon and it didn't go away. Apparently there was a pandemic of sorts and whole cities and maps were getting affected. I was told that the CDC actually did a study of the incident to see how people reacted to it. Don't know how true the CDC part is, but i am sure if they did study it they got some intriguing data.
  • MarzAttakz
    MarzAttakz
    ✭✭✭✭
    Furthermore I unshackle my inner schizo and will often resolve the same moral dilemma differently based on the personality of the current character.