Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts
Maintenance for the week of September 23:
• PC/Mac: No maintenance – September 23

Need Help With Build

DPtheGod
DPtheGod
Soul Shriven
I am fairly new to the game. I just hit CP160 and I am a Dragonknight. I chose a Dark Elf and wanted to be a Stamina DPS but haven't had much luck figuring out a good setup. I was looking on the internet and people were saying Dark Elf DK's do better as magicka DPS because of their passives favoring fire damage and magicka. Should I switch to a magicka DPS? If so, what are some good skills to use? If not, what skills are good for a Stamina DK?
  • davey1107
    davey1107
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Dark elves are very popular for magic DKs. However...honestly...their racial passives were always designed to make them more flexible than most, and they still make good Stam DKs. They certainly aren't anytning like races like Altmer or Khajiit...where swapping to the other resource is a massive handicap.

So feel free to play him as a stam DK. If you ever became a maxxer, looking to get every singe point of dps possible, other races might be better. But you can get within 98% of the other races, so don't sweat it. For me, I like stam characters because I like the weapon skill lines. A stam DK gets awesome attacks from these, and powerful buffs from their class skills.

Gear

One mistake that's common is people thinking "I'm a DK, therefore I need heavy armor." You're already inherently tanky...what a new DK lacks is DPS. So feel free to migrate to medium armor. There are better dps sets here, and the passives really boost damage. (My stam DK does both roles...he just carries multiple gear sets).