Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

Looking for infrequently given advice

RyanHuff
RyanHuff
Soul Shriven
I'm new to the game and am playing with a level 6 Altmer Sorcerer.

It may seem odd but what I'm after from the brains trust, is some advice that you wish you were given when you started out. There are a million articles offering tips and tricks, but the absolute best tips to be given are from the players.

Things I was to know are what things I should focus on improving, should I buy, craft of scavenge, should I focus on being a crafter from the very beginning, and anything else that springs to mind.

While it's fun to find out for yourself, having someone say "well what I've found in my 500+ hours of play..." would be priceless.

Thanks in advance!
  • FriedEggSandwich
    FriedEggSandwich
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    If you want to be self-sufficient then you will want to get into crafting early. Research and deconstruct all of the armour drops you find. Invest a skill point early in the passive that lets you research more than one item at a time, this will let you research more traits early on. Save your gold for the 1st 2 bag/bank upgrades and then after that save it for trait research items. You can try to remember what you need to research next and save those items you find, but this takes organisation and is a bit of a pain in the butt. I just find it easier to deconstruct everything I collect, wait till research has finished on an item and then just buy the next research item from any guild trader for less than 1k gold. You don't really need to spend gold on anything else.