Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Is it lore breaking to role play a civilized goblin?

bilka04
bilka04
Soul Shriven
Hello all!
I am rather new to The Elder Ecrolls Online and I cant wait to jump into the roleplay because that is ELDER SCROLLS game! :D
Anyway I was thinking to make a goblin assassin character (skinny and short orc) but I am not sure if that isn't breaking any game lore. I can't remember of any goblins that were accepted in the society and/or of any goblins that are reasonable and somewhat intelligent. My backup plan is my character to be a half goblin but again not sure if it is alright to create a new race here. That sounds even more lore breaking. And my third option is to roleplay him in the wilds, never enter cities. A deserter from the clan. But that would kinda ruin my leveling and pretty much most social contacts that I may create otherwise :P

Thanks in advance for your responds and have a great day :)
  • Jim_Pipp
    Jim_Pipp
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    While goblins are generally despised, there are examples of intelligent goblins who can talk and make deals with the other races of Tamriel. In an ideal roleplay community you may be attacked or at least challenged to dual by more racist characters (especially the altmer who keep goblins as slaves), but more fair-minded citizens may be willing to let you be.

FYI - there is a really good goblin polymorph (a costume that completely transforms you into a goblin) available for free from quite an early quest in Stonefalls.

You quite often see players wearing the polymorph, so it gives the impression that there are some goblins tolerated in cities.
    #1 tip (Re)check your graphics settings periodically - especially resolution.
  • Jim_Pipp
    Jim_Pipp
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    p.s. the lore got retconned, and goblins and orcs are not related anymore. Orcs are a kind of elf.