Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

New player hitting a wall; help requested

sillyrobot
G'day Folks,

I found almost all combat in the game to be a cakewalk. Then I walked into a wall.

My character is a Khajiit Nightblade. I entered a new territory (Greenshade) at level 29 and the quest climax fights are too tough for me to handle. My usual tactic is to back up, gain a bit more experience and equipment then try again. Two levels later with a some gear upgrades and I'm not seeing any improvement in my results. I am turning to the wisdom of the veterans for ideas of what I need to change.

If it matters, the quests I cannot complete are regional quests Right of Theft (a section of Shades of Green), Amronal of Valenwood, and the main quest Valley of Blades.

About me
I started play a few weeks ago. I'm new to this game, but not to MMORPGs, having cut my teeth on Asheron's Call in the 1990s and playing more than a few since with the most recent being The Secret World. In my teens, my reflexes were average. They are no longer that good, but aren't terrible. I am somewhat colourblind and often miss the red danger markers on the ground – in fact I didn't know they existed for the first dozen levels or so.

Character
Khajiit Nightblade level 31. 8 picks on Health, 31 picks on Stamina.

Best skills Assassination (38), Siphoning (35), Dual-weapon (35), medium armour (38)

Mana 13K maximum/1K recovery, Health 15.5K/1K, Stamina 18.5K/1.3K

Magic damage 1.5K / 16% critical, Weapon damage 1.75K / 24% critical

Resistances 13.5K spell /16.5K physical / 0 critical

Passive skills:
All medium armour purchasable
All racial purchasable

Class skills
  • Master Assassin – 2
  • Executioner – 1
  • Pressure Points – 2
  • Refreshing Shadows – 2
  • Shadow Barrier – 1
  • Magicka Flood – 2
  • Soul Siphoner – 1

Weapon skills
  • Dual wield expert 2

Slotted skills