Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

Class choice for a Mystic Knight?

castem
castem
Soul Shriven
I'm fairly new to ESO and I want to make a character similar to a Mystic Knight - someone that mainly fights in melee with heavy armor, weapon & shield, and uses magic to enhance/sustain themselves.

Originally, I thought this meant I was going to have some kind of hybrid build, but then I read somewhere that even Stamina builds use Magicka abilities. This would probably be enough for me (I'm looking more for a fighter with magic, rather than a mage with melee), but I'm not sure which class has the better Magicka abilities for doing this.

What does each class offer for this kind of build? Which class would be best for what I'm going for? Do certain classes have Magicka abilities based off health/stamina instead of straight Magicka?

If it matters, I would like to do both PVE and PVP later on and I don't mind tanking (although I'd like the option to switch between tank and dps if possible).
  • susmitds
    susmitds
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    What you want is a Stam NB is Black Rose. They are the only class having a magicka damage ability, that scales with stamina.
  • castem
    castem
    Soul Shriven
    susmitds wrote: »
    What you want is a Stam NB is Black Rose. They are the only class having a magicka damage ability, that scales with stamina.

I don't mind having magicka damage ability, but that's not what I was originally looking for. I was more wondering about class magicka abilities that enhance (buffs on self, debuffs on enemies, gap closers, teleportation, etc) or sustain (healing, shields, damage reduction).
    Edited by castem on October 20, 2016 4:52AM
  • kaorunandrak
    kaorunandrak
    ✭✭✭
    Night blade is what your looking for, it's has tons of self buffs/heals/passives/etc etc