Update 44 is now available for testing on the PTS! You can read the latest patch notes here: https://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/en/categories/pts

Radeon RX 480 8 GB

ThePonzzz
ThePonzzz
✭✭✭✭✭
I've been playing ESO with a Radeon R9 290x Turbo Duo since September of 2014. Sometime around summer time in 2015, my GPU would crash any time I did heavy group content (trials) or someone tossed a meteor on a zerg inside a tower (Cyrodiil). I've noticed my performance on the card going downhill this last year, so I'm taking the plunge to get a new one. Anyone have any experience with the Radeon RX 480 with 8 GB for ESO? The 290x runs pretty hot with ESO. I use two monitors, which I realize increases the load on the GPU, but I'd have never thought ESO would be too much for the 290x. I really don't want to run into the same issue again a year later.
  • delclay23
    delclay23
    ✭✭
    Go r9 370x
  • NoFlash
    NoFlash
    ✭✭✭
    ^ r9 370 best bang for the buck and will be good if you're on a budget
    Daggerfall Covenant

The Ninja Squirrels
  • melek-taus
    melek-taus
    ✭✭✭
    The RX 480 (reference) runs this game flawless but it gets really hot. My RX 480 would sit at 80 degrees even with low settings. I can run ESO flawless on 4k but the card just gets darn hot.
    My RX 470 (MSI Twin Frozer Ed) does exactly the same as my previous RX 480 but does not get hotter then 60 degrees. I prefer the 470 due to price but the 480 8GB is a very nice card.

If you are going for a RX 480 just make sure you get it with a custom cooler with two fans like from XFX, MSI, Asus etc. Do not go for the reference design or with 1 fan on it.
    EU/PC
    Malek Taus - VR16 Khajit Stamina GankKnight -

Will gank for Skooma....
  • ThePonzzz
    ThePonzzz
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    melek-taus wrote: »
    The RX 480 (reference) runs this game flawless but it gets really hot. My RX 480 would sit at 80 degrees even with low settings. I can run ESO flawless on 4k but the card just gets darn hot.